Home / Coega Development Corporation / Our People / Board Committee / Human Resources and Remuneration Committee

Coega Development Corporation
Coega Special Economic Zone
Coega Services
Human Resources and Remuneration Committee

Two non-executive directors make up the Human Resources and Remuneration Committee. The committee makes recommendations to the Board on matters including general staff policy, remuneration, bonuses, Directors’ fees, services contracts and other employee benefits.


Appointed: 2019

Nomonde Mtembu has worked at Tescor in various positions such as Hydro Plant Operator at First Falls and Collywobbles, from 1987 to 1991 then became a senior invoice clerk until 1995, when Eskom took over Tescor in 1995 after the 1994 elections, she held various positions, such as an Operations Controller, Administration controller, Materials Requirement Planner (MRP) Controller and Special Projects. From 2013 until 2018, she was the Senior MRP Controller.

She holds a qualification in Labour Law from the Nelson Mandela University, a Higher Certificate (CumLaude) in Economic Development from the University of Western Cape, a Diploma in Supply Chain Management from the Institution CS Holdings Midrand and a Certificate in Labour Studies from the Natal Technikon.

She completed a three-year National Diploma in Human Resource Management from the Southern Business School in 2019.

Appointed: 1999

Dr Paul Jourdan is an independent consultant on resource-based and spatial development strategies, working across several African states as well as for SADC, the AU and UNECA. As Deputy Director-General in charge of Special Projects at the dti, Jourdan was responsible for the establishment of the IDZ programme, with the Coega IDZ and CDC as pioneer projects. Later, as CEO of Mintek, he contributed to minerals beneficiation growth strategies, including the planning of the metallurgical cluster at Coega.

He is on the Board of the GGDA (Gauteng Growth and Development Agency), the CEO of MEMSA (Mining Equipment Manufacturers of South Africa) and a visiting Professor at Wits (SEBS; Development Economics).

Dr Jourdan holds a BSc in Geology and a BA in African Government from UCT; a Postgraduate Diploma in Exploration Geophysics from ITC (in the Netherlands) in Delft; an MSc in Mineral Economics, and MSc in Mineral Policy from Wits University; and a PhD in Politics from Leeds University.


Appointed: 2019

Phila Xuza is the Director and founder of the Centre for Small Towns Regeneration (Pty) Ltd. She holds an MA degree in Geography from the University of Witwatersrand and has over 25-years’ experience as a strategist, scholar and practitioner of spatial economic development in small towns.

Phila’s interests are developing small town regeneration strategies for municipalities, conducting leadership training in small town regeneration and small town research studies. She has completed projects and assignments in SA, Botswana and Namibia. She seats on the Board of Directors of a number of municipal and government entities. She has published widely on economic development, particularly relating to sustainable regional economies. She lives between Alice, Chintsa (Eastern Cape), and Cape Town (Western Cape).

Appointed: 2019

Mr Glen Zamisa started as an Industrial Engineering Technician within the automotive industry in the early 80s, and later, moved from Industrial Engineering and Production into the HR.

He studied for various management diplomas at the then Port Elizabeth Technikon.

In 1992, he was sent by VWSA to do an advanced management program at the University of Cape Town Business School. Mr Zamisa completed his Masters in Business Administration (MBA) with Stellenbosch University at Bellville campus in 2004. He also boasts a Diploma in company direction with the Graduate Institute of Management and Technology (GIMT) in Johannesburg in 2007.

He has been the Human Resources Manager for various companies mostly in the automotive sector and is currently the HR Manager at Borbet SA in PE since 2010.

He is a long standing member of Black Management Forum and previously served as provincial chair as well as the national board.

Mr Zamisa is the Chairman of the board of African Pioneer Group (APG), a BEE investment company based in Port Elizabeth and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee of Nelson Mandela University, the PE TVET College Governing council and the board of trustees of Medimed Medical Scheme.

Home | Media Centre | Newsletter | Tenders | Link | Contact us | Disclaimer | Copyright © 2020 Coega Development Corporation (Pty) Ltd
Useful Links »